Get Nigeria Educational News, Career Tips, Past Questions and Answers, Scholarships right at your finger tips..

Rhodes Scholarships Eastern Africa 2018/2019 Apply Rhodes Scholarships Online

0 15
Rhodes Scholarships Eastern Africa 2018/2019 Apply Rhodes Scholarships Online. Rhodes Trust is now accepting applications from citizens of Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania or Uganda for its 2018/2019 Scholarships for East Africa for study in the University of Oxford. The deadline for submission of applications for Rhodes Scholarship for East Africa is 23:59 East Africa Time (EAT) , Friday, 31 August 2018.
Rhodes Scholarship programme is the oldest (established 1903), and
perhaps the most prestigious, international scholarship programme in the
world. Administered by the Rhodes Trust in Oxford, the programme offers
more than 100 fully-funded Scholarships each year for postgraduate
study at the University of Oxford in the UK- one of the world’s leading
Rhodes Scholarships Eastern Africa
Selection Committees for the Rhodes Scholarships Eastern Africa are
looking for young leaders of outstanding intellect and character who are
motivated to engage with global challenges, committed to the service of
others and show promise of becoming value-driven, principled leaders
for the world’s future. The Selection Committees are looking for the
  • academic excellence (e.g. First Class Honours or GPA of minimum 3.7/4.0, or equivalent).
  • energy
    to use your talents to the full (as demonstrated by mastery in areas
    such as sports, music, debate, dance, theatre, and artistic pursuits,
    particularly where teamwork is involved)
  •  truth, courage, devotion to duty, sympathy for and protection of the weak, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship
  • moral force of character and instincts to lead, and to take an interest in your fellow human beings
East Africa covers Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and Burundi.
is one Rhodes Scholarship for East Africa each year. The Scholarship
for East Africa was announced in 2018 and the first Scholar will arrive
in October 2019. 
Kenyan citizens are not eligible for the Scholarship for East Africa but should apply instead for the Scholarship for Kenya.

Rhodes Scholarships Eastern Africa Eligibility Requirements:

Nationality/citizenship: You must be a citizen of Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania or Uganda.

Education/residency: You must have been resident in one or more of the countries listed above, or Kenya, for at least five of the last ten years.
Subscribe to our newsletter
You must have reached your 19th and not have passed your 26th birthday
on 1 October 2019, which means you must have been born after 30
September 1993 and on or before 1 October 2000. Exceptions, extending
the upper age limit by no more than 2 years, may be made for students
who have undertaken an undergraduate degree of five years or more, at
the discretion of the National Secretary. In such cases, exceptions will
only be considered for applicants born after 30 September 1991 and on
or before 1 October 2000.
Subscribe to our newsletter
Academic achievement: You
must have completed (or will have completed by no later than July 2019)
an undergraduate degree from a college or university (normally a
Bachelor’s degree) to a sufficiently high standard to be admitted to
postgraduate study at the University of Oxford. This would normally be
the equivalent of a First Class, or a GPA of 3.7 or more. In this
respect, please note carefully the requirements for your chosen course
at Oxford.
English Language requirement: You must
have a sufficiently high standard of English to meet the English
language proficiency requirements (at the Higher Level listed) of the
University of Oxford:
the very intense international competition for places at the University
of Oxford, candidates studying in Burundi or South Sudan will have a
greater chance of successful admission to Oxford if they have an Honours
degree (or have taken an Honours year) from a University outside of the
their country or if they have studied to Masters level within their

How to Apply for Rhodes Scholarships Eastern Africa.

  • You can apply online from 01 June 2018 at via the scholarships tab.
  • You must submit your application online, with all supporting documents, by 23:59 East Africa Time (EAT), Friday, 31 August 2018.
  • In
    preparation for making your application, you should read carefully the
    general information for candidates on the Rhodes website, the Conditions
    of Tenure for the Rhodes Scholarship, the information in this document
    and the graduate admissions pages of the University of Oxford:
  • Shortlisted candidates will be
    invited to a social reception (e.g. a lunch or dinner reception) and an
    interview. No candidate will be selected without interview. You must be
    available to attend the interview and social reception, in person, as no
    accommodations can be made on date and time of these events. Interviews
    will be held in Kigali,Rwanda, in later October / early November.
    Reasonable travel expenses will be reimbursed for interview candidates
    traveling from outside of Rwanda. Overnight accommodation will be
    provided if necessary.
  • All applicants will be emailed with the outcome of their application by 15 November 2018
SEE ALSO:  NDDC Skill Acquisition Training Programme 2017/2018
Deadline: 31st August, 2018.
National Secretary for East Africa Mrs Janet Kabiru Email:
We cherish your opinion and we look forward to it via the comment section. Hence, if you need us to feed you with more updated information at the right time, kindly provide us your email Address in the subscription box below.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time