Saturday, 10 March 2018

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) Logo, Full Description and Meaning

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) Logo, Full Description and Meaning
The University of Ilorin was first established in 1975 by a decree of the Federal Military Government of Nigeria. The university exhibits an official logo for recognition and academic declarations as explained later in this article.

From beginning, the university of Ilorin was known as University College and was earlier affiliated to the oldest university in Nigeria, Nsukka. University of Ibadan commenced academic operations with only three academic faculties: Art, Science and Education.

The University of Ilorin began its journey on a portion of the temporary campus of the Kwara State Polytechnic. It was on this site that the academic programmes of the Faculties of Art, Science, Education, Engineering, Business, Social Science and Basic Clinic Sciences

The law programme began in 1983. Initially, it started as a department in the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences. In 1993, the law programmes was upgraded to a full fledged Faculty. Currently, the university has 15 faculties which include:

UNILORIN Faculties in 2018.

  1. Arts,
  2. Agriculture,
  3. Environmental Sciences,
  4. Life Sciences,
  5. Management Sciences,
  6. Physical Sciences,
  7. Social Sciences,
  8. Communication and Information Sciences,
  9. Education,
  10. Engineering and Technology,
  11. Pharmaceutical Science,
  12. Veterinary Medicine, and Law;
  13. College of Health Sciences (with 2 Faculties-Basic Medical and Clinical Sciences)
  14. Institute of Education and Unilorin Sugar Research Institute); and 
  15. The Unilorin Postgraduate School.

Currently, the above faculties of the University of Ilorin have over 60 academic departments. Undergraduate degree programmes are run for 3-5, or 6 years, depending on entry qualifications and discipline.

The World University ranking organization in 2004 declared the University of Ilorin as the first University in Nigeria and the first university to be ranked among the top 20 universities in Africa. It was ranked 20th in Africa and 1824th.

Consequently, the University of Ilorin is occupied with its students of about 30,000. The University of Ilorin is located in the ancient city of Ilorin which is about 500km from Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.

Ilorin is the capital of Kwara State and it is strategically located at the geographical and cultural confluence of the North and South with a land mass of 5,000 (approximate) hectare.

University of Ilorin was one of the seven institutions of higher learning established by a decree of the Federal Military Government in August, 1975.

The motto of the school is Probitas Doctrina. It is a Latin word which means, “Better by far.”This slogan is quite popular within the four walls of the school and beyond.

The university logo features an open book which highlights the importance of education. This is an ever-present element in emblems belonging to educational institutions.

The logo also depicts a part of the sun rays which conveys the fact that education brings about enlightenment.
Join Us On Facebook
& Twitter for Latest School News

Previous Post
Next Post

post written by:


We Appreciate And Welcome Comments... Please Try To Drop Your Comment Or Views For This Post....

Note: All Comments Are Moderated. "No Spamming"

Text/Whats-app: +2348166573666.
Work Hours: Monday - Saturdays [10am-8pm]

Contact Form


Email *

Message *