Get Nigeria Educational News, Career Tips, Past Questions and Answers, Scholarships right at your finger tips..

TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences 2018 Apply Here

0 17
TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences 2018 Apply Here
funding from the Siwei Cheng Foundation of the Education Foundation of
the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, the prize will recognize
economic scientists who have been living and working in a developing
country for at least 10 years.

Application Deadline: 15th March 2018

Eligible Countries: Developing and other Countries

To be taken at (country): The prize will be presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.

About the Award: The
prize reflects the Chinese Academy of Sciences’ strong support to TWAS
and, more generally, seeks to build scientific capacity in the
developing world. Bai Chunli, president of both the Chinese Academy and
TWAS, played a central role in the creation of the TWAS-Siwei Cheng

The TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize is named after the renowned
Chinese economist Siwei Cheng (1935-2015), an economist, chemical
engineer, and major political figure. He is most well-known for his work
in modern Chinese economic development as a driving force behind the
establishment of ChiNext, a stock exchange designed to provide venture
capital in technology companies. His work has had a profound impact on
both the Chinese and global economy.

Field of Study: Economic Sciences

Type:  Awards

Eligibility: Candidates
for the TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences must be economic
scientists who have been living and working in a developing country for
at least ten years immediately before their nomination. They must meet
at least one of the following qualifications:

  1. Scientific research achievement in economic sciences of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
  2. Outstanding contribution to the application of economic sciences to sustainable development.
SEE ALSO:  JAMB Sets Deadline For 2017/2018 Admission Processing

Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for the prize.

Self-nominations will not be considered.


  1. TWAS
    is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science
    academies, national research councils, universities and scientific
    institutions in developing and developed countries.
  2. Nominations
    can only be submitted electronically through the on-line nomination
    platform and clearly state the candidate’s contribution to understanding
    and addressing economic sciences.
  3. Nominations of women social scientists and candidates from scientifically lagging countries are particularly encouraged.

Selection Criteria: Selection of the awardees is made on merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members.

Value of Award: 

  1. From 2017 and for five years total, an annual prize of US$10,000 will be awarded in the field of Economic Sciences.
  2. The prize is accompanied by a medal.

How to Apply: The
TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences’ nominations can only be
submitted electronically through the on-line platform by clicking on the
“Nominate Now” link at the bottom of this page.

Visit Award Webpage for details

Award Provider: The World Academy of Sciences with funding from the Siwei Cheng Foundation.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time