Get Nigeria Educational News, Career Tips, Past Questions and Answers, Scholarships right at your finger tips..

Apply! IWMF Courage in Journalism Award 2018

0 13
Apply! IWMF Courage in Journalism Award 2018

The International
Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for the Anja
Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award honoring AP photographer
Anja Niedringhaus, who was killed in Afghanistan in April 2014. 

Application Deadline: 16th March 2018

Eligible Countries: All

About the Award: The
Courage in Journalism Awards honor women journalists who set themselves
apart by their extraordinary bravery. Facing and surviving danger to
uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress.
Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards can be full-time or
freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers
working in any country.

Sexual harassment, threats,
attacks, government oppression, a stubborn glass ceiling, unequal pay,
accusations of fake news and a growing mistrust of the media all
threaten press freedom around the world. And female journalists often
feel the greatest brunt of these attacks. In fact, the number of female
journalists killed in 2017 more than tripled from the year before.

Courage in Journalism Awards show people that female journalists are
not going to step aside, cannot be silenced, and deserve to be
recognized for their strength in the face of adversity. It honors the
brave journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments
hostile to women, and share difficult truths. 

These women demonstrate a
commitment to press freedom and extraordinary strength of character,
overcoming unjust conditions to become leaders in their industry. So
far, we have honored more than 100 groundbreaking journalists in 56

Type: Contest

Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards must be full-time staff
or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers, or
producers working in any country and of any nationality.

SEE ALSO:  Imo State Scholarship Program 2018 to Study at NCAT

Value of Award: The Award includes a cash prize of $20,000.

Timeline of Program: As
part of the IWMF’s partnership with World Press Photo Foundation, the
2018 Award winner will be announced publicly and have her work showcased
at the World Press Photo Festival of Visual Journalism in April 2018.

How to Apply: To apply for yourself or submit a nomination for someone else, visit the IWMF’s Submittable page

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Award Providers: IWMF

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time